Home insurance FR44 Insurance in Florida: Frequently Asked Questions with Full Answers

FR44 Insurance in Florida: Frequently Asked Questions with Full Answers

0

When did the Florida FR44 insurance application go into effect? What are the requirements needed for one? What type of policies are eligible for compliance?

Effective October 1, 2007, a person convicted in Florida for drink-driving must maintain increased liability coverage limits for vehicle accidents. The minimum amounts are $100,000 per person, $300,000 per bodily injury liability accident, and $50,000 in property damage. A single combined limit of $300,000 is also acceptable. Liability must be provided by a Florida policy. This could be auto insurance or an operator’s insurance where there is no vehicle to insure. A vehicle that insures a vehicle with less than 4 wheels is not eligible as this type does not include Personal Injury Coverage (PIP).

The flexibility to comply with different types of policies, and as a policyholder or additional driver, allows the convicted driver to insure a well-fitting one. For example, a young transporter will often find a lower rate as an additional driver on his parents’ policy. In the past, another good option was to insure a scooter that might have cost you as little as $100.00 for the whole year. Unfortunately Florida no longer allows a deposit with this type.

Do all drivers with a DUI in Florida need FR44 insurance? How long will the requirement remain in effect?

To clear an FR44 DUI case number for driver’s license recovery, a driver, received the violation before November 1, 2014, is required to prove that increased vehicle liability insurance in the amount of 100/300/50k was in effect at the time of the violation, or they must purchase an FR44 policy for three years from the date of original suspension date. After November 1, 2014 all drivers convicted of drink driving will be required to purchase and maintain a non-cancellable FR44 policy for three years from the date of DUI recovery date.

When can I restore my license after purchasing a policy? How will the Florida DMV be notified that my FR44 requirement has been met? Can I receive the FR44 certificate at the point of sale?

The FR44 form (certificate) is filed by the company with the Florida Bureau of Financial Responsibility. As required by law, they will be sent electronically within 15 days of commencement. Companies usually ship to the agency at the point of sale and the DMV database is updated within 24 to 48 hours so that the license can be restored.

Some companies will generate a “paper” certificate at the point of sale that can then be combined with proof of insurance and faxed to a local DMV office, from the agency or company with an identifying cover sheet. This is the fastest way for a convicted driver to recover their driver’s license.

Since companies send the FR44 certificate to the state electronically, a special request is needed to have one issued directly to the policyholder. It is usually typed and then faxed or emailed, and usually takes up to 2 hours to be ready. If you’re in a rush, before you buy, or even before you get a quote, find out if a certificate is immediately available.

How much will this cost? What is the cheapest way? Are there also file costs and repair costs?

There is a $25.00 filing fee for everyone. A driver’s license recovery fee is required for drivers who did not have increased liability limits of 100/300/50k on their policy at the time of the DUI. However, the total cost is determined by a large number of variables that are unique to each person including location, age, history, vehicle type etc. Usually the cheapest way to get an FR44 insurance policy is an operator’s policy or not -owner. which does not include a vehicle. This type of policy is not available to drivers who have access to a vehicle or require a locking device.

Can I cancel? Can the insurer cancel? If I cancel, can I replace it with another one?

As of May 4, 2012, all policies with a Florida FR44 application may not be canceled. Businesses can only cancel during the first 30 days to determine eligibility. Of course, there are many legitimate reasons for canceling a policy, such as moving to another state, selling your vehicle, getting married, etc., and there is a way to cancel these policies. Approval may be submitted to remove the FR44 application from an existing policy, and then that policy may be cancelled. Please note that if the FR44 requirement is still in effect, the canceled policy will need to be replaced or the driver’s license suspended. When you cancel, you may be asked to provide a registered affidavit stating your reason and how you intend to continue with compliance. Naturally, when your compliance period ends during the policy period, all restrictions may be removed from that policy.

Can I get a monthly payment plan? Does the State of Florida Require Full Payment? Can I have more than one policy?

Since they cannot be canceled, companies will demand full payment. Unlike the termination clause, demanding payment in full is not a state mandate. Since companies are not free to cancel a policy for default, they generally will not offer payment plans. However, there are a few, in limited circumstances, that allow for a payment plan. One has recently started offering payment plans for all of their renewal policies. Keep in mind that companies offer a significant discount when paid in full, and the FR44 requirement does not eliminate that discount. There can only be one application per driver, but a driver can have more than one policy and this provides additional flexibility.

When is my FR44 requirement no longer needed? How do I contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles?

The best way to find out is to contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles and let them tell you the exact date your requirement ends. I recommend contacting them by email at: https://www3.flhsmv.gov/DDL/CQS/ so you have their answer in writing. When you are within 60 days of ending the requirement, you can bear the 100/300/50 liability without actually filing a return and will be deemed to comply. This option can be especially useful when starting a new policy as payment plans, driver exclusion and all other options can be exercised.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here